how to watch the fate anime series in order list

How To Watch Fate Anime Series In Order 2022

Are you interested in Fate anime but are unsure of where to begin? There are many TV shows, alternate timelines, and spin-offs associated with the Fate franchise. Due to the overwhelming confusion about where to begin, the fate series became famous worldwide.

If you are looking for how to watch fate anime series in order?
Then I am here to give you the ultimate guide to fate anime series order you can watch

Is Fate Series Worth Watching?


Definitely Yes, If you a fan of action, then you are going to enjoy it. So, what is the fate series about?
The basic plot revolves around the Holy Grail War (a Battle Royale) where 7 masters(magical abilities of human beings) summon 7 dead heroes (warrior spirits) to fight the battle till death to the Holy Grail to win which grant the master one wish.

How To Watch Fate Series In Order?

In simple words, there is no such order to watch fate anime series, unlike other animes whose story was adopted from manga, the fate anime’s adaptation of a visual novel (video game) developed by Type-Moon and released on 30 January 2004.

Each fate series has its own universe with different realities which tell different stories of different characters. You will see the crossover of some characters in different shows with alternate origin stories.

Additionally, each series introduces some new characters not found in the other series. When you watch all the Fate anime series, you are basically watching different stories that share common themes and concepts. Like fighting for Holy Grail War is the common theme in every fate series.

What Is The Order Of The Fate Anime Series

Here is the series you should watch. First Fate anime has been out with Studio Deen in 2006. But the best adaptation is from studio ufotable which will give you the best animation experience.

How Many Fate Series Are There?

Which fate anime do I watch first

For starters, this is the main anime to watch, here is the fate anime series and movies list in order,

Tv Series

  1. Fate/stay night By Studio Deen, 2006
  2. Fate/Zero by ufotable, 2011-2012 (season 1 and 2)
  3. Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works by ufotable, 2014-2015 (season 1 and 2)
  4. Fate/Grand Order Absolute Demonic Front: Babylonia
  5. Fate/Apocrypha (Netflix Original)


  1. Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works (2010)
  2. Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya Oath of Snow 2017
  3. Fate/stay night Heaven’s Feel: I. Presage Flower 2017
  4. Fate/stay night Heaven’s Feel: II. Lost Butterfly 2019
  5. Fate/Grand Order – The Sacred Round Table Realm Camelot- Wandering; Agateram 2020
  6. Fate/stay night Heaven’s Feel: III. Spring Song 2020


  1. Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya (2013)
  2. Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya: Prisma Phantasm (2019)
  3. Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya: Undoukai De Dance! (2014)
  4. Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya Specials (2013)
  5. Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya Movie: Sekka No Chikai (2017)
  6. Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya Movie: Sekka No Chikai (2018)
  7. Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya 2wei! (2014)
  8. Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya 2wei! Specials (2014)
  9. Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya 2wei! Mahou Shoujo In Onsen Ryokou (2015)
  10. Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya 2wei Herz! (2015)
  11. Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya 2wei Herz! Specials (2015)
  12. Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya 3rei! (2016)
  13. Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya 3rei! Specials (2017)
  14. Fate/Extra Last Encore
  15. Lord El-Melloi II’s Case Files
  16. Carnival Phantasm
  17. Today’s Menu for The Emiya Family

Which Fate Anime To Watch First?

We will discuss the Fate/Stay TV series so that you can get a better understanding of the story and plot of the Fate universe.

Which Fate Anime To Watch First?

Fate/Zero by ufotable, 2011-2012

We have decided to do things chronologically to make things easier, as well as because we think it is the most efficient way of doing things.

So we begin with Fate/Zero, which was not the first release, but is a great starting point for us since it introduces us to the fourth Holy Grail War.

Kiritsugu Emiya is the protagonist of the story.

The Holy Grail Wars had already been fought three times before. However, a family (The Einzberns) felt 4 occurrences would be a better choice for them.

The Einzbern were desperate to obtain the Holy Grail. They hired the Kiritksugu to help them. Kuritsugu decided to enter the all-important fourth holy grail war with his servant after taking the contract.

Season 1: Episode 13
Season 2: Episode 12

You can skip fate/stay by Studio Deen if you want to because there is no continuation from them in 2011 ufotable took the franchise under them.

Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works

Ultimate Blade Work is an adaptation of the visual novel’s 2nd route, about Shirou Emiya an orphan who lost his family in a fire incident adopted by Kiritsugu Emiya after the last fight happened in Fate/Zero.

Kiritksugu thought him magic, which leads him to participate in the Fifth Holy Grail War.

how to watch fate anime series in order

Fate Stay Night Movie List

Fate/Stay Night Heaven’s Feel is part of a trilogy, adapting a different route of Fate/Stay Night from Unlimited Blade Works, with Shirou Emiya as the protagonist.

  1. Fate/Stay Night Heaven’s Feel Presage Flower
  2. Fate/Stay Night Heaven’s Feel Lost Butterfly
  3. Fate/stay night: Heaven’s Feel – III. Spring Song

Fate/Stay Night Heaven’s Feel: Presage Flower

The first part of the film trilogy focused more on Shirou’s life. It turned out that Shirou had feelings for Sakura Matou during his alliance with Rin.
As a result of the intimacy, Shirou would be able to gain a deeper understanding of the nature of the war and the families involved.

Fate/Stay Night Heaven’s Feel Lost Butterfly

The second part of the movie revolves around Shirou, Rin, and Sakura. There was a new character comes Shinji Matou (Sakura’s brother).
Instead of being an ally, Sinji opposes Shirou.

Shirou tries to save Sakura from harm in the movie, as Sakura and Shinji continue to reveal more ugly secrets throughout the rest of the series.

Fate/stay night: Heaven’s Feel – III. Spring Song

In the final trilogy, a new character will be introduced: Illyasviel Von Einzbern.
As the hidden enemy finally reveals itself, the lives of all participants are threatened. A group must defend themselves against an enemy force-even if some of them had once been their allies.

It will continue to unravel many secrets that have left Shirou doubting his ideals as the war continues.
In its debut, Spring Song was the No. 1 highest-grossing movie in Japan for 2020, generating approx. $19,252,497 million.

Fate universe is big and still growing with many routes and alternate timelines go and explore more of the fate anime series.

Check out the other blog on:  Who is the strongest Akatsuki member In Naruto

Spoiler Alert for those who haven’t seen Attack on Titan yet, checkout Who is Ymir on Attack on Titan

Frequently Asked Question

Is Fate anime available on Netflix?

There are 6 Fate anime series available on Netflix are:
Fate/Stay Night
Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works
Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya
Fate/Apocrypha Netflix Original
Fate/EXTRA Last Encore Netflix Original

Are all Fate series connected?

No, each fate series has its own universe with different realities and stories. Some characters will cross over in multiple shows with alternate origins.

How long does it take to watch all of the Fate series?

It will take you more than 9 hours to watch the entire fate anime series.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.